Choice Cafe & Restaurant (Sanjo Station, Higashiyama Ward, Kyoto) – ★★★

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★  – Good
  • Type: All Vegan
  • Location: Near Sanjo Station, Higashiyama Ward, Kyoto
  • Hours: Mon-Thur 10:30am – 8:00pm (Last Order 7pm), Fri-Sat 1o:30am-10:00pm (Last order 10pm), Closed Sunday
  • Price: $ – Inexpensive (average entree is ¥950)
  • Website: Restaurant Website, HappyCow Page

About & Location:

Choice is a vegan health-food cafe located beneath a clinic on Sanjo Dori.  I found it a bit difficult to find (in spite of the fact that it’s located on a major road), but if you keep walking between Sanjo Station and Sanjo Keihan station, and look north (on your left if you’re coming from Sanjo Station to Sanjo Keihan station), you’ll find it.  It’s on the ground floor.

Address, Train Access & Contact:

  • English Address: 89-1 Sanjo-dori, Ohashi-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan 605-0009
  • Japanese Address: 〒605-0009 京都府京都市東山区大橋町89-1 鈴木形成外科ビル1F
  • Train Access: Sanjo Station or Sanjo Keihan Station
  • Phone Contact: 075-762-1233

Google Map:


Food Review:

On my first day in Kyoto, I made it until about noon, when I was overtaken by hunger.  By chance, I ended up being really close to Choice Cafe, a restaurant that was on my list of places to go to.

Since it’s a health food restaurant, almost everything on the menu is focused on fresh, whole foods. and there are lots of whole-grain and oil-free dishes.  This definitely isn’t a “vegan junk food” place.  I’m personally a huge fan of rich, artery-clogging food, but every now and then it’s nice to enjoy a meal that is satisfying but also light and “clean” feeling.  If that’s your favorite kind of food, this is the place for you.

I was hungry, so I ordered the heartiest thing I saw:  The “taco rice,” which had bed of brown rice,  covered in vegetables and beans in an almost curry-like sauce, with a topping of greens, vegan “sour cream” and dollop of salsa.  It was filling, healthy, and quite tasty.  It wasn’t rich so much as it was hearty.  Again, I’m personally a fan of rich food so I didn’t return during my trip, but it was still an excellent meal overall and I would definitely recommend for those who want to balance out some of the vegan pizzas and ice cream sundaes from the other vegan restaurants in Kyoto.

P1010594

P1010595

Atmosphere & Service:

Choice Cafe is quite spacious, and since I was the only person in there, it was almost a bit uncomfortable.  I’m sure when it’s busier it feels much more balanced, however.  There is a more formal dining space in the back (where I believe they serve large groups), and a more casual space towards the front, where single diners and and couples can sit.  The decor is very clean, bright & simple, and reflects the “pure” aesthetic of the food itself.

That’s all for now!  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

