Lohas Raw Food Cafe (Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan) – ★★★

Lohas Raw Food Cafe (自然食&ローフードLOHAS)

 

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★ – Good
  • Type: All Vegan EDIT 10/14, NOT VEGETARIAN, but vegetarian & vegan friendly
  • Location: Susukino, Sapporo, Hokkaido
  • Hours: 
    • Mon-Fri: 11:00-19:00 (Last Order 18:00)
    • Sat : 11:30-15:30 (Last Order 14:30) (Note: It used to be closed some Saturdays, but now it’s open every Saturday)
    • Holiday: Every Sunday & National Holidays
  • Price: $-$$ – Cheap to Moderate (Lunch ¥500-¥1200)
  • Website: Restaurant Website, HappyCow Page
  • Language Barrier: English Menu available

P1020752

P1020737

About & Location:

Lohas is a Raw Food café and health food store located in the Tanuki Koji Shopping Arcade, Sapporo’s oldest shopping district, in the Susukino district of Sapporo, Hokkaido.  It’s located at the very end of the shopping arcade, in the block marked 7 (each block of the shopping arcade is marked with a number).

Address, Train Access & Contact:

  • English Address: I-Hotel 1st Floor, 7 Chome -6-1, Minami 2 Jonishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo-shi, Hokkaido, Japan
  • Japanese Address: 北海道札幌市中央区南2条西7-6-1 イーホテル札幌 1F
  • Train Access: Near Nishi 8 Chome (西8丁目) Stop on the Sapporo Tram, or between Odori and Susukino Stations
  • Phone Number: 050-5890-1713

Google Map:

 P1020736

P1020753

Food Review:

10/14 EDIT:  Apparently, Lohas isn’t vegetarian, much less vegan as HappyCow originally said.    So, the items I ate may or may not have been vegan! However, it does offer vegan and vegetarian options.  So please ask your server which items are vegan/vegetarian.

I really enjoyed café Lohas. They don’t have a particularly expansive menu (they mainly provide a range of soba dishes as well as some vegan sushi), but it was exactly what I was looking for.  They have a soba lunch set which is very cheap (at ¥500), but I ended opting for the larger soba set for ¥1200.  My lunch set included Soba, dipping sauce, a bowl of rice with red beans, a side salad, a very small sampling of cake, and a cup of tea.  I would highly recommend this set, as it offered a bit of everything.

P1020738

 P1020752

The soba and dipping sauce were quite good, and I really enjoyed it because I never get to order soba while eating out (the soba itself is generally vegan, but the dipping sauce usually isn’t, and ordering with only soy sauce seems a bit disappointing).  The dipping sauce was served with a side of green onions and wasabi to customize the flavor of the sauce, as well as hot water, so I could make a “soup” of the remaining sauce after I was finished with my meal.

P1020745

P1020749

The salad had a mix of bean sprouts, mixed greens, tomatoes, corn, yellow peppers, and purple and green cabbage, and was topped with sunflower seeds and a light soy sauce dressing.  Unfortunately, because the dressing was thin it pooled up at the bottom of the bowl, which mean there was too much at the bottom.  But otherwise the salad was delicious and much more interesting than the typical just-lettuce side-salads that I’ve received at other restaurants.

P1020744

The tiny piece of cake ended up being amazing.  I didn’t order a full dessert because I’ve been disappointed by “raw” desserts in the past – I’ve found the texture is often to dry or too nutty, or the fillings to obviously of soy origin (I hate that soy aftertaste).  I now wish I’d ordered a full slice, because the bit I got was amazing.  I got a sample of Lohas’ Marble Tart, which was a mixed vanilla and chocolate tart with a nutty crust.  The filling was icy cold but very smooth and melted in my mouth, and it was quite sweet with no soy aftertaste.  It really was perfect.

P1020747

My meal also came with a choice of coffee or herb tea, and I opted for the herb tea.  It was sweet and had a very subtle flavor that I couldn’t quite place (since I don’t generally opt for herb teas, as I’m a fan of caffeine).  I really enjoyed it though, as it added to the overall relaxing atmosphere of the café and the meal itself.

Atmosphere & Service:

I absolutely loved the atmosphere at Lohas. It was freezing outside (and snowing quite heavily), but the restaurant itself was toasty warm and offered a wonderful shelter from the elements. It’s a bit small and narrow, but very tidy and well-organized so you don’t have to worry about running into others.  My favorite part was the music: while I was visiting, they had a tape of what might be called “forest sounds,” complete with birds chirping and the rustle of leaves. It made me feel very relaxed, like I was picnicking in the forest.

P1020742

The service was equally exceptional.  The staff were very attentive and offered me an English-language menu.  I ended up not being able to finish my meal, and asked if I could take my food to go (something which can’t always be done in Japanese restaurants, as it’s not as common of a practice here).  Clearly this was not a common request, but the staff bustled around to look for containers for my food and sauce.  They ended up giving me a plastic sauce container (a sturdy, permanent one) just so I could take my sauce home.  I was so amazed at their generosity and kindness.

 Overall:

I genuinely enjoyed my visit to Lohas Raw Food Cafe, and found the food to be tasty, the atmosphere relaxing and comfortable, and the service exceptional.  If I’m ever in Sapporo again, this will be the first restaurant I visit again!

That’s all for now!  More Sapporo reviews to come!

 

One thought on “Lohas Raw Food Cafe (Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan) – ★★★

Leave a Reply

