Chaya Macrobiotic (Hibiya, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo) – ★★★★

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★★ –  Delicious!
  • Type: Omnivore (but vegan friendly)
  • Location: Near Hibiya Station & Yurakucho Station, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo
  • Hours: Tues-Sat, 11:00-23:00 (Last Order 22:00). Sun-Mon, 11:00-22:00 (21:00).
  • Price: $$$ – Slightly Expensive (typical entrée about ¥2625)
  • Website: Restaurant Website, HappyCow Page

About & Location:

Chaya Macrobiotic is  macrobiotic cafe & restaurant with 3 locations in Tokyo.    The Hibiya restaurant is located in the Basement 2 floor of the Chanter Hibiya shopping center, right across from the Takarazuka theater.  You can reach Chanter either by taking the JR Yamanote line to  Yurakucho station, or taking the metro to Hibiya station.

Address, Train Access & Contact:

  • English Address: Hibiya Chanter Building B2 Floor, 1-2-2 Yurakucho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo-to, Japan
  • Japanese Address: 東京都千代田区有楽町1-2-2,東宝日比谷ビル B2F
  • Train Access: JR Yurakucho Station or Tokyo Metro Hibiya Station
  • Phone Number: 03-3500-5514

Google Map:

P1020392

Food Review:

Although Chaya Macrobiotic is not an entirely vegetarian/vegan restaurant, it’s exceptionally vegan-friendly and offers some of the best vegan fare in the city.  There are plenty of vegan main dishes, and their amazing desserts are also vegan!  Somethings include seafood, though, so if you aren’t sure, just ask the servers. They know what vegan means and are happy to help.

I ended up ordering the Vegan Omelette because… how could I not?  My expectation weren’t high but it was actually quite could.  While not quite as fluffy as eggs, they got the consistency quite good.  It didn’t have an awful lot of flavor, but the “gravy” on the side more than made up for that.  It was a classic Japanese omelette filled with rice, so it was really fun to have a chance to try something so unique to Japan, even in a highly-modified form.

P1020379

Vegan Omurice with Demiglace Sauce (¥1500)

P1020381

My boyfriend ordered the Croquette Plate (¥1200)

My boyfriend ordered the Croquette Plate (¥1200)

When I visited a second time, I went for lunch and ordered the Hamburg Set!  I actually misread it and thought it was a hamburger set, so I was a little surprise when I received this bunless wonder (which is called a hamberg in Japan).  In spite of the lack of bread though, it was incredible, much like pretty much everything else I’ve ordered from Chaya Macrobiotic.  I especially loved the side of avocado filled with cucumber and tomato – it really added to the complexity of the dish.

Hamburg Set

Tofu Hamburg with Avocado Salad, Brown Rice Bowl & Soup (¥1544)

Hamburg Set Close-up

Hamburg Set Close-up

Every time I go to Chaya I ALWAYS get cake, because Chaya offers the best vegan cakes in the city, and some of the best vegan cakes I’ve ever had anywhere.  While small in size, they’re well worth the cost.  During my first visit to this location, I ended up getting the Strawberry Shortcake, since it’s my personal favorite.

P1020391

P1020389

Strawberry Shortcake (¥562)

P1020388

Strawberry Shortcake at Chaya Macrobiotic (¥562)

Afterwards, I ended up grabbing some vegan coconut-milk Chocolate Gelato to go, because… I have a problem.  I don’t really like the taste of coconut milk and generally shy away from coconut milk ice cream – it’s so rich it sometimes makes me feel a little sick.  But this was absolutely amazing. I don’t know if they used light coconut milk or if the chocolate just overpower any coconut taste, but it tasted like nothing more than rich, creamy chocolate ice cream, and is some of the best I’ve ever eaten. It was pricey (¥315 for a single-serving cup), but made a delicious on-the-go treat.  They were even sweet enough to give me dry ice to keep it cold while I was out!

P1020397

Kütte Chocolate Gelato from Chaya Macrobiotic (¥315)

P1020382

During my second visit, I tried the Green tea gelato. Usually I’m not a huge Matcha green tea fan, but I have to say, this one was just perfect.  The bitterness of the green tea was perfectly balanced out by the coconut milk, so that it remained sweet and enjoyable.

Kütte Matcha (Green Tea) Gelato at Chaya Macrobiotic

Kütte Matcha (Green Tea) Gelato at Chaya Macrobiotic (¥315)

Atmosphere and Service:

This location has a much more relaxed feel than the Shinjuku location, which seems to specialize in a more upscale dining experience (although they do have a more relaxed cafe in front of the formal dining room).  It was very bright, well-lit and relaxing, with an open layout – you can walk right in from outside.  And, as usual, the service was prompt and the servers kind and helpful – overall, it was a wonderful experience!  I can’t wait to go back!

P1020375

Other:  

Like the Shinjuku location, the Hibiya location also sells some vegan goods that you can take home, from pre made vegan cookies to instant curry boxes.  So, if you’re here for a longer period, this is a great place to pick up things to prepare at home!

Leave a Reply

