Fresh Bakery – ★★★★ (Nangang District, Taipei, Taiwan)

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★★ – Excellent
  • Location: Near Kunyang Station (Blue Line), Nangang District, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Type: All Vegan; Bakery
  • Hours: Mon-Sat 11:30am-10:30pm, Closed Sunday
  • Price: $$ – Average (for Taiwan, $85-$95 NTW per slice of cake)
  • Language Barrier: English Menu, Staff is mostly fluent  in English
  • Website: Fresh Bakery Facebook Page, HappyCow Page
  • Phone Number: 02-27831339
Strawberry Cake

Strawberry Cake

About & Location:

Fresh Bakery is an all-vegan bakery and cafe located just outside of Kunyang Station in Taipei, Taiwan. They specialize in breads and cakes, but if you call ahead they can also make pizzas and pastas for you.

To get there, take the Blue Line towards Taipei Nangang Exhibition Center, and get off at Kunyang Station. At Kunyang Station, leave through Exit 4. You’ll see two 7/11’s in front of you when you exit, one on your front-left across a small street and one on right across a major road. Go towards the one on your right, and cross the wide street. Then turn left and walk along the sidewalk past another bakery, and keep walking for 1-2 minutes until you see Fresh Bakery on your right-hand side.

Fresh Bakery Storefront

Fresh Bakery Storefront

The Address is:

  • Chinese: 台北市忠孝東路六段 466 號
  • English: 466, Sec. 6, Zhongxiao East Rd,                                                                                                                                          Nangang (Xiangyang Road), Taipei, Taiwan

Food Review:

While I’m not exactly a connoisure, I’m quite experienced in the realm of vegan-things-that-can-also-induce-a-diabetic-coma. I’ve tried at least a hundred different chocolate bars, some over $10 a bar, and I always try to sample the desserts at whatever restaurants I visit. And if you’ve read my other reviews, you may have noticied that nothing pisses me off like a dry and crumbly cake. Cake is special: if you can’t make it, don’t serve it. Which leads me to Fresh Bakery.

Fresh Bakery ranks in my top 3 restaurants during my visit to Taiwan, and it’s not even a restaurant really – it’s mainly a bakery. But oh my god, is it a BAKERY. It serves, hands down, the best vegan cake I have ever eaten. (This title was previously held by Black China Bakery in Santa Cruz, California. Sorry, guys.) Their cakes are soft and moist, and the frosting is fluffy, light, and just the right thickness. While there I tried a range of flavors (German Chocolate, Black Forest, Strawberry, Butterscotch, Chocolate Pecan), and not one of them disappointed. During my trip, I found myself unintentionally returning day after day like a sugar-fueled zombie. I had to try as many flavors as I could!

Cakes!

Cakes!

Butterscotch Cake

Butterscotch Cake

Look at that texture!

Look at that texture!

My favorites were the Butterscotch and Black Forest, which were sweet, fluffy and absolutely satisfying. My least favorite was perhaps the German Chocolate, only because it was more bitter and the frosting was dense and chewy instead of light and fluffy. However, this is nothing more than a personal preference.

German Chocolate Cake

German Chocolate Cake

They revolve their stock pretty frequently, and their menu is more of an example than a guarantee, so don’t go there absolutely set one particular flavor. But they always seem to have 4 or so cake options on hand at any given time, so you definitely get some wiggle room choice-wise. They also have a large selection of bread (including small and large loaves), drinks (including smoothies and iced tea), and if you call ahead they can prepare pizza or pasta dishes for you. Nearly everything is made as “naturally” as possible: the breads are made without baking soda or baking powder, and the colored cakes are naturally dyed (the strawberry cake gets its pink color from dragonfruit juice!).

Strawberry Cake

Strawberry Cake

Atmosphere & Service:

Fresh Bakery is owned and staffed largely by non-Taiwanese people, which was at first a big surprise to me!  However, as I don’t speak any Chinese, I quickly found it very comforting to know I could come in and have a long conversation with no problems.  The owner and staff are super friendly, and the first time I went I only ordered a piece a cake but was then offered a chocolate-banana smoothie sample, a new “ham and cheese” roll they were testing out, and another slice of cake on the house!  I’ve never been so buried in free food before, I felt like that kid in Matilda trying to eat the giant cake (I mean that in the best way possible).  The atmosphere is very casual and comfortable, with a  couple tables for in-house dining.  You could easily stay here for hours munching away without realizing it.

"Ham and Cheese" Bread

“Ham and Cheese” Bread

Bread Selection

Bread Selection

Overall, Fresh Bakery is an exceptional bakery.  Their attention to detail and clear commitment to providing high-quality products is admirable, and it shows in their products.  I hope they’re able to expand to Japan and beyond!

Chocolate Pecan Cake

Chocolate Pecan Cake

Black Forest Cake - this is what happens when you shove a delicate cake into the bottom of a backpack :(

Black Forest Cake – this is what happens when you shove a delicate cake into the bottom of a backpack 😦

Leave a Reply

