Ooh Cha Cha (Zhongzheng, Taipei) – ★★★

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★ – Good
  • Type: All Vegan; Sandwiches, Grain Bowls & Green Drinks
  • Location:  Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Transit Access: Guting MRT Station, Exit 2
  • Price: $$ – Average (Lunch about $150-$250 TWD)
  • Hours: Mon-Fri 10am-9pm, Sat-Sun 10am-6pm
  • Website: Restaurant Website, HappyCow Page
  • Menu: Click Here
  • Language Barrier: English Menu, English-speaking staff
  • Phone Number: 02-2367-7133

About & Location:

Ooh Cha Cha is a casual healthy-eating restaurant serving sandwiches, grain bowls, juices, and raw desserts. They are located in the Zhongzheng District of Taipei, Taiwan.  It’s only a 1-minute walk from Guting MRT Station.  Take Exit 2, and walk until the first interesection (a little side-street at your right).  Look down the side-street, and you’ll see Ooh Cha Cha just a little down the street.

Address:

  • Chinese: 台北市南昌路二段207號
  • English: 207, Sec. 2, Nanchang Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan

Google Map:


P1050593   P1050592

Restaurant Review:

Sadly I was only able to go to Ooh Cha Cha once, so I didn’t get to try many of their offerings.  However, the one time I went, I had a really good experience.  Generally I don’t much like “health food” restaurants – I may be vegan but I have a terrible diet, and I’m generally more fond of “vegan junk food” restaurants.  However, Ooh Cha Cha’s offerings are interesting and creative enough that I would gladly have returned.

I ordered the Tofu Banh Mi (Vietnamese-style sandwich) with “Non-GMO tofu, pickled carrots and radish, organic cucumber, walnut pate, cilantro, cashew mayo on a whole wheat roll” (according to their website).  It was delicious – not too stuffed with fillings, but just enough that you could really taste all the flavors.  The bread was also really exceptional – It was a soft without with being the mushy cake-bread that I often see in Japan.  It came with a little shredded cabbage side-salad with a vegan mayo dressing.  It was honestly the perfect light meal to get through the hot summer heat.

Tofu Banh Mi Sandwich - $150 TWD

Tofu Banh Mi Sandwich – $150 TWD

Since it was so veggie-heavy, the sandwich served more as a light meal, and I was still hungry afterwards.  I also ordered one of the “Green Drinks” to go with, for just $100 TWD extra.  I got the Tropical Bliss, which is a blend of coconut milk, banana, pineapple, and seasonal greens.  I’m don’t generally drink “green drinks,” but this one was exceptional – the strong flavors of coconut and pineapple disguised any vegetable flavor, and the banana made it nice and thick.  The combo of the sandwich and green drink ended up filling me up just perfectly, so I’d definitely recommend ordering them as a set.

Tropical Bliss Green Drink (set with sandwich) - $100 TWD

Tropical Bliss Green Drink (set with sandwich) – $100 TWD

The cafe was very clean and bright (it’s entirely surrounded by windows), which made for a really relaxing atmosphere.  It seems to be really popular with foreigners, as I saw several others there when I visited.  The menu comes with photos and English explanations, and when I was there the waitress spoke perfect English (to the point where I wouldn’t be surprised if she had been raised in the US), so there are no worries about a language barrier at this restaurant.

Overall, I’d say that Ooh Cha Cha is definitely worth checking out.  It wasn’t wow-inducing, but it was still very good and I would definitely recommend visiting if you’ll be in the area.

Leave a Reply

