Los Angeles in Kanazawa – ★★★★

Quick Check:

  • Quality: ★★★★ – Excellent
  • Location: Near Kanazawa Castle Park, Kanazawa, Ishikawa-ken, Japan
  • Type: All Vegan; Japanese, American, burgers, noodles, bakery
  • Hours: Mon-Sun, 10:00 – 17:00
  • Price: $$ – Moderate
  • Language Barrier:  Menu includes English translations, staff speak some English
  • Website: HappyCow PageRestaurant Page
  • Menu: Click Here

DSC_0383

About & Location:

Los Angeles in Kanazawa is a Los Angeles-inspired all-vegan cafe located in the heart of Kanazawa, just outside Kanazawa Castle’s Otemon Gate.    In spite of it’s moniker, it’s menu offers a pleasant variety of both Japanese- and American-style food.   The owner’s twin brother owns another vegan restaurant in Los Angeles, called Shojin.

Address, Access & Contact:

  • English: 2-25 Otemachi, Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture, Japan 920-0912
  • Japanese: 920-0912 石川県金沢市大手町2-25
  • Access:
    • Bus: From JR Kanzawa Station, go to East Exit Platform 3.  Take the bus to the Owaricho Bus Stop (尾張町).  Take a right turn at Owarchi Intersection (尾張町交差点). Walk straight on towards Kanazawa Castle (金沢城), for about 5 minutes.  It will be on your right just before you reach the Kanazawa Castle Park.
    • Walking: If you’re coming from Kanazawa Castle’s Otemon Gate, walk along the moat/canal until you reach the Otehori Intersection (大手堀交差点).  Cross the street, and it’s on your left. It’s a 5-10 minute walk.
  • Phone Number: 07-6225-7573
  • Email: info.lakanazawa@gmail.com

Google Map:

DSC_0296

Restaurant Review:

When I visited Kanazawa, I intended to visit all of its vegan restaurants (Including Los Angeles in Kanazawa, Noppokun, and Takano).  I was staying at Guest House Shiro (go stay there!  It’s old and beautiful!), and was surprised when I looked at my map to find that Los Angeles in Kanazawa was only a few blocks away.  And… well, after trying their food on my first day, I just never made it around to those other restaurants.  Whoops.  I ended up eating there every day during my 3 day stay in Kanazawa, and I have no regrets.

Ok, I’m going to admit I’m very bad blogger.  I took this trip last summer, took a bunch of notes on everything I ate and… I have no idea where they are.  Sooooo instead of fudging the details, I’m going to have to let the photos speak for me!  Everything I ate there was delicious and totally worth the price.

The first day, I continued to pursue my lifelong goal of eating every-veggie-burger-ever and ordered the Ginger Steak Hamburger Plate (¥1,380).  The set includes a soy hamburger, a salad, and 1 drink from their drink set list.  In spite of the small appearance of the patty, this was an absolutely delicious take on a veggie burger.  At ¥1,380 it was a bit pricy, but given the free drink and large size of the salad, overall I’d say the price was fairly reasonable.

DSC_0219

Ginger Steak Hamburger Set (¥1,380)

DSC_0220

For my drink, I ordered the Soymilk and Cinnamon Amakoji. Amakoji is the base used to make Amazake, a sweet nonalcoholic drink that tastes similar to sweet sake.  It’s made from fermented brown rice fermented.  This wasn’t included on the Drink Set list, but they included it in the cost of the set anyways! So sweet!  They also have a good selection of teas and coffee from the US (including San Francisco-based Intelligentsia Coffee), so if you’re missing home, that’s a great option too!

DSC_0217

Soy & Cinnamon Genmai Amakoji (¥450)

The next time I went in, I got the Summer Veggie Hot Noodle Plate (¥1,380).  This also included a side-salad and drink.  I didn’t find it super-spicy, but if you’re sensitive to spice I wouldn’t recommend it.  It had a mild miso base, rice noodles, and was topped with strips of daikon radish and red pepper.

DSC_0305

Summer Veggie Hot Noodles Plate (¥1,380)

DSC_0301

DSC_0303

Look at those veggies!  (Also I’m sorry this picture kinda sucks)

On my way out of town I stopped in for one last yummy meal, and got the Summer Vegi Cold Noodle Plate (¥1,380): a heap of thin rice noodles delicately covered with thinly sliced vegetables and vegan “ham”.  It came with a side of soup, veggies, and a heap of karashi (spicy Japanese mustard).  I think this was my favorite meal from there – the perfect antidote to the oppressive summer heat.

DSC_0380

Summer Vegi Cold Noodle Plate (¥1,380)

DSC_0383

Close up of the Summer Vegi Noodle Plate

DSC_0379

DSC_0378

If you’ve read my blog you know I’m a total sugar-addict I definitely choose restaurants based on how plentiful their dessert menu is.  Los Angeles in Kanazawa has a pretty good dessert menu, but unfortunately when I visited a lot of their cakes weren’t available.  So, I opted for the muffins, which were amazing!  The flavors changed every day: Chai banana, banana, green tea, chocolate chip, chocolate berry, and more!  Every day I bought two more (it was kind of embarrassing since obviously the staff could tell how many I was eating haha).  Each one was moist, delicious, and perfectly flavored.  I realize ¥300 for a muffin might seem like a lot to a traveling American, but it’s actually not that bad for Japan.

DSC_0319

Muffins (¥300)

DSC_0325

Chai Banana Muffin

DSC_0327

Berry Chocolate Muffin

On my last day, as I was leaving, the store owner gave me a box of cookies for free! I originally wasn’t going to buy them because they were so small and it didn’t seem like a good value, but I’m glad I got them.  They were SO delicious – a perfect sweet, rich, crumbly texture like a Russian Tea Cake.  If you have a little extra money to spare, I’d definitely recommend trying them.

IMG_3111

Vegan Cookies (¥400)

Los Angeles in Kanazawa tries to capture the feel of a Los Angeles Cafe. I haven’t been there in a long time, so I can’t say how accurately it does so, but it definitely has a very vibrant atmosphere.    The walls are covered in art, and bookshelves are interspersed between tables.  The storefront even has a basket filled with local vegetables for sale.  There was a real sense that this wasn’t intended to just be a place to eat food, but a place to gather and enjoy life.  It was a great place to just sip tea and relax after rushing around sight-seeing all day.  The staff are super-friendly and helpful, and happy to chat with you about Kanazawa. Overall, I loved this place!  I hope I get to visit again soon!

DSC_0385

DSC_0320

Other Restaurants in Kanazawa:

Leave a Reply

